Halo

Specializing in Virtual Legal Assistance

Lawyers and Technological Change May 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Laurie @ 9:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

It can be hard for any of us to embrace new technology, but a recent article from law.com addresses how lawyers in particular have trouble embracing advances that would improve their work experience (and probably their bottom line too!)

It certainly has been my experience that lawyers can be cautious about embracing technology. I know of many sole practitioners who were hesitant to even get internet in their offices – they were more concerned about abuse by employees than the many benefits online access could offer.

Personally, my favorite technological advances are the ones that reduce my dependence on paper! I have found in my years of legal assistance work that the legal system uses entirely too much paper. I want to get away from this when possible and try to go paperLESS (not paper-free)!

I am looking to upgrade my scanner soon to a high quality one so I can scan everything into my computer. I’m going to use an electronic fax system so that I can receive faxes by email and only print when absolutely necessary. I’ll also have an automatic off-site backup system in place soon so that I don’t have to worry about a computer crash causing me to lose everything. I keep my computer drives pretty “clean” and organized, so I know that using my computer for organizing all my documentation is going to be a great system for me!

I’m curious – what is your favorite technological advance? Leave me a comment to discuss!

 

2 Responses to “Lawyers and Technological Change”

  1. […] @ 5:33 pm Check out this week’s blog carnival hosted by VagabondetteVA – my post on lawyers and technological change is one of posts […]

  2. […] presents Lawyers and Technological Change posted at Halo Secretarial […]


Leave a Reply

